Side Projects Part 3

One of the problems with producing picture books is the lack of time
allowed, especially if you are naturally inclined towards a less minimalist
approach to illustration.
I had 6 months to do Peter Pan in Scarlet, which sounds a lot of time, but
the pencil mock-up took 2 months, leaving 40 full colour pictures to be be
completed in the remaining time. This was a stretch, even working digitally.
Using traditional media it would have been impossible.
So I’ve been thinking of ways to use real paint in a more efficient manner,
as I’d prefer to do more picture books in the future…
Unfortunately it’s not going quite to plan – even though this took just 2
days, it’s not quite the result I was after, and watercolour is very
difficult to alter. Still, I had another idea for a different approach along
the way, so it wasn’t a total write-off.

0oldgoatpage10goatpencil

3 Replies to “Side Projects Part 3”

  1. Hi I’ve recently read the Spook’s Books and very much liked the little illustrations you do for each chapter heading. After looking at your blog I’ve realised I’ve got quite a few books with your work in. Are your side projects things you are doing for yourself or will they be published at some point?

  2. Thanks Sean. My side projects are purely speculative (and therapeutic) – if I can get them to a standard good enough to show a publisher, I will… it’s just finding the time. There is the option of self-publishing, but the amount of work involved in marketing, selling, etc. is quite frightening…

  3. I know what you mean about time, I draw a little as hobby and I’m currently trying to learn how to paint digitally but even that is difficult with my regular job and family life. Thanks for sharing your work it is much appreciated and great to see stuff in progress as well as finished pieces.

Leave a Reply

