Grandma Crow

Sadly edited out of ‘The Ballad of Old Goat and The Heron’, I’ve used this
character to try further experiments with watercolour and pencil. This was
painted on Gesso-primed plywood, producing a rougher, more textured feel
than smooth paper. I quite like the way the pigments break up on the lighter
washes, but the darker tones are really difficult to control.
My scanner likes adding an extra acidic quality to the greens which is
annoying – I need to work out how to take an effective photograph of
original artwork; which I would assume would be more sympathetic?

0gcrow

3 Replies to “Grandma Crow”

  1. I love this! It reminds me rather strangely of my own grandmother, who was rangy and grey-haired and a determined knitter. About the greens, can’t you deal with them by adding a selective colour adjustment layer in Photoshop? It’d be lots quicker than taking a photo, I’d have thought. Sorry if you’ve already tried this and I’m stating the obvious.

  2. Thanks folks.I did take the greens down on this version by slightly desaturating the background. This is fairly close to how it looks in real life. I can’t help thinking photography would be more realistic, as the light has to travel through space, whereas a scanner is just picking up flat, individual nuggets of colour. Might be romantic nonsense, of course…

Leave a Reply

