Goats

Over the years I have developed a bad habit: I do the easiest, more exciting
illustrations first and leave the awkward ones until last. This annoys me no
end, but I can’t stop myself. As the Old Goat and Heron project nears
completion, I’ve had to tackle the pictures I was least enthused about, but
they are necessary for the flow of the story.
Despite drawing the waving goat quite carefully beforehand, in the finished
painting I found he ended up with a head that was two sizes too small, so I
enlarged it in Photoshop. The hint of landscape in the background was an
addition after I scanned the image the first time and decided it was looking
a little bare.
The goat in his allotment was just deeply tedious to paint. Vegetables may
be good for you, but don’t bother drawing them.

0goodbye0happygoat

Leave a Reply

