Firsts and Seconds

I’m guest blogging over at David Fickling Books this week.

The topic is ‘creating your second book’, which is not particularly relevant to my career, so instead I wrote a little about my second-ever book cover commission. To link these two blogs I am revealing my first-ever book cover, created for Puffin books way back in 1991. It was a collection of Edgar Allan Poe stories edited for children. I specialized in spooky covers for a while after that – I didn’t do my first fantasy piece until a year later, illustrating Tamora Pierce’s Wild Magic. Unfortunately the original artwork was lost. 

V

Leave a Reply

