Noses Are Difficult

Image

I managed to squeeze in a quick ‘Local Character’ picture. A bit of a strange one, but the idea was haunting me; it had to come out onto the page so I could get some peace. It was inspired by a friend’s daughter, who is working on her art A level.

I was reminded of my brief time at college, where we would stand drawing endless pictures of bottles and onions. It was quite tedious at the time, but in retrospect it was an invaluable exercise in expressing shape and form. After a while you become very focused; the objects lose their meaning and you see them purely as abstract entities made of light and dark.

For some reason, I wanted to give the picture a Carl Larsson-y feel. Maybe because the last few Local Character pictures have been quite heavy and dark.

Next week, if time allows, Samurai Chicken Defender!

 

Image

 

6 Replies to “Noses Are Difficult”

  1. I came to your blog via Conrad’s link about the comics you’re planning to do together -AWESOME news by the way. But looking at this blog, I can’t believe I’ve found someone else who likes Larsson, he was such a big influence on me (not in a drawing sense, but in terms of how I view the world and the space its made of). Loving your take on his look!

    I’m also seeing echoes of Charles Vess. 🙂

    1. Thanks. Looking forward to working with Conrad – more news soon.
      Yes, there’s probably a bit of Vess influence in there. His command of watercolour is amazing. He’s visited a couple of times and is a very nice chap as well as a great illustrator.

Leave a Reply

