Further Goat Maintenance

Image

Page 2 of the continuing renovation of my Old Goat and the Heron project. The plan is to make the pictures more presentable and link them into the pen and ink style of the Local Characters series. On this occasion, I managed to tidy the image up (Goat is much better), but I kind of prefer the colours in the original below. I like the warmer feel.

Image

 

11 Replies to “Further Goat Maintenance”

  1. Hi David, my name is Minh Nhat and Iive in Vietnam and go to ACG International school. I am in the middle of Exhibition unit and I am in an art group. I love your work and I would like to skype you with some interview questions. Is this possible? I will give you my teacher’s email address and then can give you her skype address if it’s ok to talk to you.

      1. Here are my questions. Interview questions
        Why do you do art?

        What different things inspire you to do your art?

        What limits your work? Is it materials, what a client is asking for, no time, lack of inspiration or other things?

        What are your responsibilities as an artist?

        What do you think about while you do art?
        What kind of art do you do? How would you describe it?

        What are the difficulties you have while drawing?

        What do you love about what you do?

      2. Why do you do art?
        I loved drawing when I was a young person – to my surprise I discovered it was possible to make a living from it. It seemed ridiculous to stop drawing and do something less amusing.

        What different things inspire you to do your art?
        Many varied things – things I’ve read, things I’ve seen, other artist’s work; it would be a very long list. Right now I’m particularly inspired by where I live (Dartmoor), which has a lot of interesting and beautiful things to be inspired by.

        What limits your work? Is it materials, what a client is asking for, no time, lack of inspiration or other things?
        Mostly it’s the demands of the publishing industry, and what the booksellers think will sell. Book covers can be especially difficult. Deadlines are usually a good thing for me, as I would keep working on the same thing forever if i didn’t have to get it done in a reasonable amount of time. I suppose the biggest limitation is myself – it can be frustrating when you see a picture in your head and it refuses to come out and work as an effective image. Sometimes painting can be an uphill struggle…

        What are your responsibilities as an artist?
        As a commercial artist, your responsibilities are to your client. You need to produce what they’ve asked for and get it done in time. As an artist in general, I think it’s important to respect your own sensibilities and let your personality and ideas communicate through your work. People respond to things that are created with care and integrity.

        What do you think about while you do art?
        In the early stages of a picture I start with lots of pencil scribbles, and I’m usually thinking hard about the basic layout, worrying if the design is strong enough, etc.
        If I’m painting watercolours, I’m usually quite focused on colours and tones and hoping I don’t make a mess of everything. When producing book covers digitally, I often have background distractions such as music or TV programmes on. You can afford to make mistakes or try unusual ideas out on the computer so it’s less stressful.

        What kind of art do you do? How would you describe it?
        I guess I’m an illustrator – though sometimes I illustrate stories that have no words!

        What are the difficulties you have while drawing?
        I’ve mentioned some of the difficulties in previous answers. I can usually find a way to make a picture work – some take longer than others. Sometimes you get asked to change things; that can be difficult if you think you’ve done it the best way you can, but you just have to try a different approach. That gets easier with experience.

        What do you love about what you do?
        It’s nice when people respond positively to a picture – it’s like creating a little piece of magic. It can be quite satisfying to capture your imagination and communicate it to others using paints and pencils.

      3. Hello David, I am emotion to receive your message all though I know you are very busy, you still reply my interview question carefully. I love your drawings. Your painting is very wonderful, excellent. I like their color, they are natural and real, and lively. Really, they are attractive. They make us impassioned. I hope you will draw more and more. I wish someday you will draw for art, not commercial. You will be a famous artist. You will devote outstanding art work for human and history.

Leave a Reply

