Badgers and Muppets

Image

I re-painted the next scene in the Ballad of Old Goat and Heron.

When I’d finished, I sat back, looked at and had a conversation in my head that reminded me of Statler and Waldorf, the aged hecklers from the Muppet Show. It went something like this:

“Oh yes, that’s much better, the drawing of the Goat is a great improvement.

Solly Badger is fine too. But the original one was OK anyway.

Actually, I think I prefer the background of the original painting. It’s lighter and the colours are more varied.

The old one had more depth and a feeling of light through trees…

This new one is terrible. Do it again, properly this time!”

I am a muppet.

Image

 

2 Replies to “Badgers and Muppets”

  1. Personally I truly prefer the new (the first artwork of the post). The drawing is more meticulous and contrasted than the old paint. Anyway, that’s in each case, a good job !

    1. Thanks Alex. If I have the paintings in front of me, I think I prefer the new one. But scanned and on the computer screen, it looks a bit too heavy. I could adjust things in Photoshop, but the whole point of these images is to keep me away from digital trickery!

Leave a Reply

