Dead Hares and Mad Hatters

Image

Since finishing the Crooked Imp (read the first two episodes online here) I’ve been largely unemployed.

But I haven’t been entirely idle; apart from catching up on lots of television I’ve drawn a couple of things. The Death Hares is an alternative, pirate version of the Tinner’s Hares, a symbol found in medieval churches and businesses in the area. I was going for a morbid look, but they seem quite happy. I’m going to try a different version with a black background in the hope they look a bit more heavy metal. I thought they might look good on bag or t-shirt, so I set up a Redbubble account. I’ve not received the items yet, so I can’t vouch for the quality at the moment, but they are available to the general public.

Also last week I made a poster for our first ‘Save the Library’ event, featuring the Mad Hatter and Dormouse from Alice in Wonderland. I think this is the first time I’ve illustrated anything from the books – I have a vague memory of doing the Caterpillar, but I can find no evidence of any artwork. Must have dreamt it…

Image

6 Replies to “Dead Hares and Mad Hatters”

  1. I think it’s the ears – because ears don’t have bones in them, but they need the ears to make them look like hares. Perhaps the ears should be more insubstantial, more ectoplasm-y?

Leave a Reply

